University of Toronto Jazz Orchestra – Embargo

University of Toronto Jazz Orchestra – Embargo

November 23, 2019

Gordon Foote: conductor
Zach Griffin: alto sax, soprano sax, flute
Griff Vona: alto sax, clarinet
Geoff Claridge: tenor sax, clarinet
Jacob Chung : tenor sax
Alex Manoukas: baritone sax, bass clarinet
Evan Dalling, Kaelin Murphy, Christian Antonacci Ben Frost: trumpets
Nick Adema, Vonne Aguda, Kyle Orlando, Charlotte McAffee-Brunner: trombones
Charlotte Alexander, Ilinca Stafie: french horns
Anthony D’Alessandro: piano
Julien Bradley-Combs: guitar
Evan Gratham: bass
Jacob Slous: drums

The Faculty of Music, University of Toronto, is pleased to announce the release of Embargo, an album of new music by the University of Toronto Jazz Orchestra. This collection of new music represents several facets of their Jazz Program, with students demonstrating their skills as composers, arrangers, large ensemble performers, and improvisors.

The music on this CD is almost entirely composed and arranged by members of the group; the only exception being a tribute to the late, great Rob McConnell in the form of a rousing performance of his arrangement of Take the A Train. McConnell, a master musician and arranger, is one of the most influential figures in Canadian jazz, having reshaped the sound of big band jazz with his legendary group The Boss Brass. In addition to his legacy of recordings, his papers and scores are part of the archives at the U of T Faculty of Music Library.

Embargo is a brilliant new album by one of the finest large jazz ensembles in Canada, and a fine follow up to Sweet Ruby Suite, their 2017 recording with Norma Winstone and David Liebman.

Release Date: January 10th, 2020