The Composers Collective Big Band – The Toronto Project

The Composers Collective Big Band – The Toronto Project

March 5, 2023

Christian Overton –  Musical Director & Trombone
Woodwinds: Tara Davidson (as, ss, fl), Chris Roberts (as, cl, fl), Paul Metcalfe (ts, cl, fl), Jared Welsh (ts, cl, fl), Marcus Ali (bs, bc, fl)
Trumpet & Flugelhorn: Jason Logue (lead), John Pittman, Brian O’Kane, John MacLeod
Trombone: William Carn, Tom Richards, Pat Blanchard, Karl Silveira, Sylvain Bedard (bass tbn)
Electric Guitar: Erik Patterson
Piano & Keyboard: Carissa Neufeld
Acoustic & Electric Bass: Justin Gray
Drums: Jeff Halischuk
Featuring Special Guests: Pablosky Rosales (Tres),
Les Alt (Flute), Amely Zhou (Erhu), Maya Killtron (voice), Jonathan Kay (Tenor Sax), Andrew Kay (Alto Sax), Ravi Naimpally (Tabla)

What is the sound of a city?

With The Toronto Project, the Composers Collective Big Band has put together its most ambitious project yet, commissioning Toronto’s top jazz composers to write about the neighbourhoods and aspects of their city that inspire them  the most. The Composers Collective Big Band is an 18 piece jazz ensemble led by trombonist and composer Christian Overton. Since forming in 2005, the group’s mandate has been to present new works for large jazz ensemble by Canadian composers. 

Toronto has been known as a great jazz city for decades. When jazz fans all over the world hear bands like Rob McConnell and the Boss Brass, they instantly recognize the swinging arrangements and immaculate playing as being emblematic of  the Toronto sound. Today, that sound is evolving into something new – an audacious sensibility forged by a diverse new generation of jazz musicians.

Discover the unique people and places that make up Toronto as seen through the eyes of its finest jazz artists.

Release Date: Friday, April 14th 2023