Ernesto Cervini – Joy

Ernesto Cervini – Joy

August 28, 2022

Ernesto Cervini: drums and compositions
Felicity Williams: vocals (1)
Emilie-Claire Barlow: vocals (1)
Amy Cervini: vocals (1)
Alex Samaras: vocals (8, 12)
Virginia MacDonald: clarinet (7)
Tara Davidson: alto saxophone (2, 5, 9, 10, 12, 15)
Luis Deniz: alto saxophone (6)
Kelly Jefferson: tenor, soprano saxophones (2, 3, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15)
Jim Lewis: trumpet (7)
William Carn: trombone (2, 9, 10, 12, 15)
Adrean Farrugia: piano (2, 4, 10, 11, 12, 15)
Don Scott: guitar (1)
Dan Fortin: acoustic bass (1, 2, 4, 7, 10, 12, 15)  
Artie Roth: acoustic bass (3, 13)
Rich Brown: electric bass (6, 14)

Joy is the latest record from Juno-winning drummer and composer Ernesto Cervini. Inspired by Louise Penny’s Gamache series of books (NYTimes Best-Sellers) and the qualities of goodness, decency, courage, and love that permeate them, Cervini was moved to compose music that captures the characters, landscapes and relationships created by Penny. From the opening track “Three Pines” that sets up this voyage, to a musical portrait of a duck and her cranky, poet laureate owner in “Ruth’s Rosa,” from the mercurial “Beauvoir” to the beautiful love story of “Sandalwood and Rosewater.”

The album showcases Canada’s finest musicians and is the first of Cervini’s albums to feature vocalists; Two tracks feature Alex Samaras (Queer Songbook Orchestra), and an additional featuring track with Felicity Williams (Bahamas, Bernice), Emilie-Claire Barlow (2 time Juno Award winner, 6 time nominee) and Amy Cervini (Duchess)  who also co-produced the album. Featuring Ernesto’s Turboprop, Tune Town, Tetrahedron groups as well as other sonic surprises, this album is a musical journey through the soul and heart of Three Pines and the characters who inhabit it, guided by an adoring fan. Cervini’s music and personality beam with unbridled joy and this album is a true reflection of that.

Release Date: Friday, October 7th on TPR Records.