Emie R Roussel Trio – Rythme de Passage

Emie R Roussel Trio – Rythme de Passage

February 2, 2020

Emie Rioux-Roussel: piano
Nicolas Bédard: bass
Dominic Cloutier: drums

Ten years have passed since the Emie R Roussel Trio produced their first album. In that time, the band has become an unstoppable force on the Canadian jazz scene, winning the Stingray Rising Stars Award at the 2018 TD Halifax Jazz festival, the 2015 Félix at l’ADISQ for jazz album of the year (for their third record Quantum) and the 2013-14 Opus prize for jazz album of the year (for their second release, TRANSIT.) Their music has taken them to eleven countries on four continents, including stops in Tokyo, at Jazzahead! in Bremen, Germany, and at the legendary club Duc des Lombards in Paris.

The dawn of the new decade finds the trio energized and inspired, ready to begin a new chapter. United as a single indivisible musical core, they’re ready to share new music inspired by their long journey together. The music on Rythme de Passage, their fifth album, is like a conversation: in turn quiet, agitated, and passionate. It is a testament to the group’s strength of spirit and an important milestone in the band’s collective history.


Release Date: Friday, February 28th 2020