Manteca – The Twelfth of Never

Manteca – The Twelfth of Never

September 4, 2020

Art Avalos: drums, djembe, timbales, cajone, udu, dundun, percussion
Colleen Allen: alto, tenor, baritone, soprano saxophones, flute, alto flute, bass clarinet, piccolo
Charlie Cooley: drums
Mark Ferguson: trombone, bass trombone, vibes & keyboards
Will Jarvis: electric & acoustic bass
Jason Logue: trumpet & flugelhorn
Nick Tateishi: electric & acoustic guitars
Doug Wilde: acoustic piano, Wurlitzer, Rhodes,
Matt Zimbel – congas, talking drums

Forty-one years after their first downbeat, Manteca – the Toronto based world-jazz nonet – is very much upbeat, still creating, still exploring, and still a force of joyous sonic invention. If you think you know their music, this CD will come as a big surprise.

The Twelfth of Never is the Juno Award winning jazz world collective’s 12th CD. A collection of eight original compositions by Doug Wilde, Matt Zimbel and Jason Logue, it was recorded at Revolution Recording in Toronto over four days with four time Juno Award winning engineer Jeff Wolpert.

With longevity comes a certain aural refusal to conform, a kind of “I yam what I yam”, creative defiance. The Toronto Star called Manteca’s last recording   “gut grabbing innovation.”  Oh yeah, we’ll take that!

After attending a pre-release listening session, Laurie Brown (host of Pondercast and CBC Radio’s “The Signal“ ) said: “there’s a seismic emotional shift in the music. The Twelfth of Never is cinematic, introspective, atmospheric and moody – mysterious even. The playing is exceptional and the sound is remarkable.”

The Twelfth of Never is by turns tender and cutting – a tour de force by one of Canada’s most storied bands.

Release Date: Friday, October 16th 2020