Ally Fiola & The Next Quest feat. Jeff Coffin – Interblaze

Ally Fiola & The Next Quest feat. Jeff Coffin – Interblaze

January 29, 2023

Ally Fiola: alto saxophone
Jeff Coffin: tenor saxophone
Chris Mitchell: baritone saxophone
Simon Oakey: trombone
Addison Sowery-Quinn: sousaphone
Shvan Kaban: guitar
Glenn Patscha: organ, piano, accordion
Andrew Miller: drums

Interblaze is the exciting new full-length album from Nova Scotian saxophonist and composer Ally Fiola. It considers themes of grief, wonder, fear, and passion through the exploration of one’s inner fire. The album includes seven of Fiola’s original compositions, and concludes with a tribute to her late grandfather. Also featured on this record are Grammy nominated saxophonist Jeff Coffin (Dave Matthews Band, Bela Fleck and the Flecktones), keyboardist Glenn Patscha (Bonnie Raitt), Kurdish rock guitarist Shvan Kaban, and a number of top-tier Nova Scotian musicians including co-producer and saxophonist, Chris Mitchell.  

Fiola’s music, with its quirky melodies, joyous grooves and unexpected twists and turns, is influenced by the music of Maceo Parker, Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, and the New Orleans brass band tradition. An experienced film composer, Fiola’s music is emotionally charged, infused with personality, and is widely accessible. 

From the album’s title track, to Circular Beginnings, to Intuition, Fiola fuses a familiar funk style with a distinctive melodic sensibility and interwoven counterpoint. The New Orleans influence is evident on pieces like Back Track, and with her second line treatment of Amazing Grace. She demonstrates an ability to connect with a wide range of listeners with bittersweet compositions like the stripped down Rocket Sunrise and Thoughts of Home, which is defined by its compelling rock touch. Fiola strategically arranges the compositions on Interblaze to highlight the talents of the artists she has assembled for this project.

Release Date: Friday, March 10th 2023