Heather Bambrick – Fine State

Heather Bambrick – Fine State

September 1, 2019

Heather Bambrick – Vocals
Chase Sanborn – Flugelhorn
Kelly Jefferson – Saxophones
Adrean Farrugia – Piano (3-6, 10, 12)
Michael Shand – Piano (1,2 7-9, 11, 13)
Eric St. Laurent – Guitars
Ross MacIntyre – Bass
Ben Wittman – Drums, Percussion
Carlos del Junco – Harmonica (Track 13)

Following her JUNO & ECMA-nominated album You’ll Never Know, acclaimed Canadian vocalist Heather Bambrick announces the arrival of Fine State, a new recording featuring some of her finest work to date. The project is a very personal undertaking for Bambrick, with songs that address themes of racism, homophobia, and the general tone of divisiveness in the world today. At the same time, it approaches these themes with artistry and grace, presenting ideas of love, connection, and the familiar yearning for a sense of “home”.

On this album, as on previous efforts, Heather pays “boat-loads” of homage to her home province of Newfoundland, with sophisticated arrangements of some traditional folk music. This album also features more of Heather’s original material, which she decided to include on the advice and encouragement of a few friends and fellow artists, including singer Molly Johnson. Says Bambrick: “Molly encouraged me to look more seriously at writing my own music – at using my song-writing voice as well as my singing voice. I’ve really enjoyed moving a little more in that direction, and I’m proud of the results on this new record.” There’s also plenty of Canadian representation in song selection, including material from Burton Cummings, Gene Lees, the Breithaupt Brothers, and more.

More than anything, Fine State is a new sound for Heather, demonstrating a more pop-oriented sensibility. “It brings together more of the things that inspire me overall, not just in jazz, and not just in music. The arrangements bear the influence of rock, pop, and folk music, and the tunes we’ve chosen have a strong connection to events happening in the world around me, and to who I am as a musician and as a person.”


Release Date: October 11th, 2019