Dhaivat Jani PLUS – Sum // Parts

Dhaivat Jani PLUS – Sum // Parts

April 30, 2023

Dhaivat Jani: drums, tabla, solkattu, compositions
Lucas Dubovik: saxophone
Eliana Parker: voice (2-4)
Dean Veneruz: vibraphone (2-6)
Michael Davidson: vibraphone (8)
Matt Greenwood: guitar
Joshua Stanberry : piano, keyboards
Matt McCormack: bass

Dhaivat Jani PLUS is the brainchild of Toronto based composer, drummer and tabla player Dhaivat Jani. Originally hailing from Ahmedabad, India – the city of love, fun, food and heat – Dhaivat Jani and his group serve up original contemporary jazz music with a healthy dose of Indian classical music, rock and fluid improvisation.

Sum // Parts represents the tally of Jani’s life so far, starting with his life growing up in India, to his migration to Canada, and everything in between: the struggles, the hustle, the joy, the tears, the fights, the victories, the ups, the downs, the spirit, and the smiles.

Drawing inspiration from a diverse range of artists including Chris Potter, Brad Mehldau, Led Zeppelin, Trilok Gurtu, Radiohead, Brian Blade, and Tigran Hamasyan, Jani and his group emphasize storytelling and narrative in their performances, taking the audience on a deep musical journey. Day 21 and Peshkaar are driven by their distinctive North Indian rhythms; Unchain and It Might Rain fill the listener’s taste for rock without losing any of their improvisational edge; Kaleidoscope offers a novel listening experience with its polyrhythmic arrangement inspired by African rhythms.

Sum // Parts is a beautiful and compelling musical statement from one of the most exciting young voices on the Toronto scene.


Release Date: Friday, June 9th 2023